Page Proofs for Twelve Kings!

By  |  5 Comments

So yesterday I got a present in the mail. It didn’t look like much at first.

IMG_1126

 

But then I opened it up, and it looked a little more promising.

IMG_1127

And when I pulled out that grand stack of pages, I was even more excited!

IMG_1128

They were page proofs! This is a pretty exciting day. It’s not the final book, of course, or even a bound ARC. But it’s pretty exciting to get to this stage.

IMG_1133

This is the nearly-final version of the book. It’s laid out like the book will be laid out when it’s in print. I.e. this was generated from the InDesign file direction, meaning what I turned in after the copy edits had been converted by the interior designer to create this file. So this is 98% complete at this point. There will be minor design changes and other front- and back-matter added to the interior. But by and large the layout is complete.

So what happens next? Well, I go through the ms and look for errors. I started this last night. Got through three chapters so far. I usually read electronically these days, but I decided to read via the print version to try to catch errors I might not otherwise have caught.

It’s going well so far. Barring a few minor word changes, it’s feeling like a polished, finished product. Can’t wait to get this out to everyone!

Here’s a video I made of “the unveiling”!

5 Comments

  1. Bruce Boughner

    March 18, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    very cool

  2. Paul (@princejvstin)

    March 18, 2015 at 7:11 pm

    Coolness

  3. Brad

    March 19, 2015 at 8:09 am

    Thanks guys!

  4. Bruce Boughner

    June 23, 2015 at 5:54 am

    Twelve Kings in Sharakhai – a review

    Described by the author as an Arabian Nights-inspired epic fantasy, Bradley P. Beaulieu delivers on that promise as we meet Çeda, an anonymous pit fighter known as the White Wolf. Çeda, a daughter of a mysterious woman searches for clues to the murder of her mother when she was 8 years old. Left only with a book of poems by her mother, Çeda grows up in the slums of this desert city ruled by the twelve mysterious immortal kings and their guards, the Silver Spears and the elite and fearsome Black Maidens.

    The story is a fun easy read that flows with the current of a fast moving creek with eddies of flashback insights into how Çeda got to her current travails and how she brings them to an exciting resolution that leads to even more mystery.

    In the tradition of Robert Asprin’s & Lynn Abbey’s Thieve’s World and Michael Moorcock’s Eternal Champion with a little of Glen Cook’s Black Company on the side.

    Sharakhai is the center of a desert of great depth as we learn of a desert that flows more like an ocean with ships on skies into the lands of the twelve desert tribes who trade with each other in the ruling city of Sharakhai. A structured society with the ruthless twelve kings ruling from atop the highest reaches of the city.

    Çeda is an orphaned girl in the slums of the city, when tragedy leads her to enter the deadly fighting pits to avenge her friend’s brother’s murder, as the White Wolf she becomes more well-off and begins to unravel the mystery of why her mother was murdered by the Kings and leads her to join the exclusive select Black Maidens.

    Beaulieu weaves a labyrinthine world of classes in a city driven by it’s mercantile dominance of the region. Mobility within those classes is very limited. Magic is in the world but also is limited so as to be the mystery and wondrous force as in the Arabian Knights. A couple of non-human races also move some of the well-woven sub-plots of this tapestry.

    Fans of Role-Playing games will find a lot of great inspiration of this well-composed story that will travel the same roads as Tanelorn, Sanctuary and Vance’s Dying Earth series. I look forward to more excitement and thrills from Beaulieu’s Sharakhai.

    • Brad

      June 23, 2015 at 9:04 am

      Thanks so much for the read and review, Bruce! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!