A new and dazzling review of The Straits of Galahesh

By  |  10 Comments

Today, Rising Shadow posted its review of The Straits of Galahesh. It was a wonderful review.

Here’s one choice excerpt:

Bradley P. Beaulieu’s The Winds of Khalakovo was one of the best fantasy books of 2011, so I could hardly wait to read its sequel, The Straits of Galahesh. This sequel is bigger and better than its predecessor and manages to hook the reader from the first page.

In my opinion, The Straits of Galahesh is one of those books, which raise the quality level of modern epic fantasy. Night Shade Books must be congratulated for publishing this book (and also other great fantasy books), because they seem to know what kind of fantasy readers want to read.

And another:

I won’t write anything about the plot in this review, because writing about it would spoil lots of surprises. All I’ll mention is that the ending is truly spectacular (ah, what an ending it was!). One of the best things about this book is that the author takes his time to develop the plot and ends the book fantastically.

And, lastly, the kicker:

The Straits of Galahesh is an original, engrossing and well written epic fantasy book for adults. I hope that several readers will read this book and its predecessor, because it’s almost impossible to find better modern epic fantasy. (In my opinion Bradley P. Beaulieu’s The Lays of Anuskaya trilogy will most likely appeal to fans of Steven Erikson and George R.R. Martin, but readers should be aware that Beaulieu doesn’t imitate either of these authors.)

Any day you get compared to Martin or Erikson (assuming you write the sorts of books I write) is a very good day indeed. Color me pleased.

You can read the full review here.

10 Comments

  1. Michael Dunnington

    November 29, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Good job Brad!!! Many kudos to you!

    • bradbeaulieu

      November 29, 2012 at 2:37 pm

      Thanks much, Mike!

  2. Paul Weimer

    November 29, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    A quote-worthy review!

    • bradbeaulieu

      November 29, 2012 at 3:22 pm

      Indeed it is!

  3. Joel

    November 29, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    nice! any idea when the audiobook will be out?

    • bradbeaulieu

      November 29, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      I do know that the audio has been recorded. The actor told me that Audible typically takes anywhere from 2-3 months after that to actually publish (because of additional post-recording quality checks, “cover” design, final prep, and so on). That was about a month ago, so my best guess right now is late December or January. I hope it’s before Xmas, but that may be too optimistic at this point.

  4. Christine L. Hardy

    November 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations.

    • bradbeaulieu

      November 29, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      Thanks, Christine!

  5. Ryan Leduc

    November 30, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Great review! I agree completely with all of the excerpts above. Truly two wonderful books. Can’t wait for the third one.

    • bradbeaulieu

      November 30, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Thanks, Ryan. I can’t wait to get it out there!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>